Posted by: Scott | Wednesday, December 7, 2005

FAQ’s/NSFAQ’s

What’s this page about?
A list of questions you may or may not have about me, my blog or anything else. Have a question not answered here? Send me a message or post a comment.

What’s a NSFAQ?
Not So Frequently Asked Question

Why “politicalcowboy”?
This name goes back to my college days. In my Sophomore year, I was setting up an e-mail account and after my room-mate came up with his, I had decided on politicalcowboy, due to my strong like for politics and my love of the West.

Are you a real cowboy?
No, I just like to dress western. Just ask any of the real cowboys up in this part of the country, they will agree.

Have you ever ridden a horse?
Yes, and I was sure glad when the K-Mart manager came out and unplugged it!   But really, I have ridden a horse. Bucked off? No, though I have been kicked in the ankle by one.

Do you have any other nicknames?
Yes; at work they call me “Scotch Tape.” A co-worker thought he heard another co-worker call me “Scotch Tape” and from then on, the name has just sorta stuck with me.

Are you married?
No, but I wish I was.

Are you dating/courting/going out with anyone?
First, I’m not exactly sure what to call it. “Dating” is considered by some to be activity done by a compromising new evangelical; “courting” is viewed by others to be activity done by an extremely old fashioned legalist that has to do everything in quite formal attire; “going out” by far is worse than dating, on the level of a theological liberal. Second, I am praying about it. Right now there are a lot of emotions to sort through. As a male, I have a hard time dealing with all that.  In all seriousness, I don’t want to make an entirely emotions-based decision.

What is your occupation?
I stock groceries overnights at Wal-Mart. I am currently praying about a change to days.

Are you one of those disgruntled Wal-Mart employees that they show on the evening news?
No. I am quite thankful for my job and for my employer. The company I work for is not perfect, but it is a good company to work for.

Does Wal-Mart respond to negative stories about them in the news?
Yes, check out www.walmartfacts.com

Is it true that every city/town in Wyoming starting with the letter C is known for strong winds?
Yes, as well as the ones that start with A, B, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K, L, M, N, O, P, Q, R, S, T, U, V, W, X, Y, and Z

What’s it mean to “pull a New York Times?”
To report/comment on something well after the original fact. See my post Peaceful blogging for the sprouting of this phrase on my blog. Conversely, a “reverse New York Times” is reporting/commenting on something well in advance.

Responses

  1. What’s it mean to “pull a New York Times?”
    To report/comment on something well after the original fact. See my post Peaceful blogging for the sprouting of this phrase on my blog. Conversely, a “reverse New York Times” is reporting/commenting on something well in advance.


Leave a Reply

Categories

