Posted by: Scott | Friday, December 9, 2005

My Christmas Tree

My Christmas Tree Here it is December already. At least this year in Cody it feels like December rather than September as it has in the past few years of the drought (though I have to admit, I’m not too keen on a lot of sub-zero temperatures either.)

Anyway, this is my fist Christmas season out from under Mom and Dad’s roof, so I needed some Christmas decorations. Mom offered use of the little plastic tree that she grew up with. It was one of the first green Christmas trees that looked like a tree (“pine-like” needles, branches, etc) and that you could decorate with lights and other ornaments. Back then (1960’s) silver and other colors of aluminum were the artificial way to go.

Not only did Mom grow up with this tree, but so did I, pretty much anyway. It was not until we had moved into a house north of Cody in the late 90’s that had a huge gabled ceiling that we got a 7′ more-real-looking artificial tree. Since I am in a small house and I figured childhood memories were nice to reflect upon during Christmas, I would take Mom up on her offer. You can see that I have the tree set up and lit. I did have to buy the tree-topper, but everything else is what I grew up with.

Prayer reminder This ornament occupies a high place on the tree. You notice it is a cowgirl. It was not around for most of the Christmases I was, but it is with all the other flat wooden ornaments. I gave it a place of prominence so as to be reminded to pray for the future Mrs. PoliticalCowboy (aka PoliticalCowgirl). I am at this point uncertain as to who she is, if we’ve met for that matter. There are certain ladies that I am acquainted with (they need not be identified for the sakes of all of our feelings) that occasionally stroll through my mind, so it’s not like I’m not looking, I’m just terrible at making sure I choose the right one. Nevertheless, I know that God is sovereign and He will bring us together with the realization of who we are to each other at just the right time.

Scrooge and Tiny Tim?This has always been one of my favorites. Every time I see it, I am reminded of Ebeneezer Scrooge walking along with Tiny Tim at the end of A Christmas Carol. I can’t say whether or not that is what it is supposed to be, but that’s what I am reminded of. Perhaps it is growing up on many of the various portrayals of Scrooge that I see that scene in this ornament.

Family at Christmas Dinner Here is another one of those old favorites, almost reminiscent of Miracle on 34th Street, if it were not for the additional child. I do suppose that this could be a scene from a few years after the movie’s end though. It is somewhat hard to see here, but the family is bowing in prayer, not chowing down. In my church, Christmas is a recognized family day, so measures are taken to ensure that family time is not encroached upon by church (canceling of the PM service (now held in the afternoons) is the main adjustment. This year, we are just having a regular morning service (Christmas in theme of course) at the regular time, perhaps somewhat shorter than normal.

From my campus parents
I didn’t particularly grow up with this ornament either. It was a gift one year from my campus parents in AZ. It can be plugged into a string of lights and it will light up with sound on “plugging in the tree” and then pressing a button after that. Or, you can set your lights to a flash mode and every time the current passes though the socket, it will activate (though that is somewhat annoying, especially on a rapid flash).

I will have some “around the house” decorations in another post. If you would like to post Christmas well-wishes, you may do so without fear of having your post deleted. It should be noted, I’m not terribly keen on the idea of the generic “Happy Holidays” or “Season’s Greetings.” This blogger celebrates Christmas. To quote from a well-known novel/movie, “It has done me well, and I say God Bless it!”

Amidst all the gifts and games, visiting and calling, may you be reminded of the True Reason for Christmas this year. All these help to make the Christmas season bright, but oh how dim it is when the Light of the World–the Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, the only begotten Son of God–is left out of it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

