Posted by: Scott | Saturday, December 10, 2005

Christmas Deocrations

My Nativity Scene
Here’s my nativity scene. Not terribly fancy, but that is OK. What attracted me to it was that each piece has a verse from the Bible on it. I thought about it for quite some time. The last time I went by it, it was the last one on the shelf, so I figured I better get it purchased or else wait for next year.

I’m not sure what translation is used, but so that you can have your curiosities eased, I have provided links that go to the verses as listed on Biblegateway.com. The references sited are from the 21st Century KJV, however, you can look them up in other translations on the site if you wish. I have also included in the reference if it is the first or last part of the verse. I will be going left to right on the picture.


Wise Man 1
: For we have seen His star in the East and have come to worship Him. Matthew 2:2b

Wise Man 2: They saw the young Child with Mary His mother, and fell down and worshiped Him Matthew 2:11a

Building front (around the doorway): For unto you is born this day in the City of David a Savior, who is Christ the Lord. Luke 2:11

Mary: The days were accomplished that she should be delivered. She wrapped Him in swaddling clothes and laid Him in a manger Luke 2:6a, 7b (though the figure just sites 2:6)

Manger w/Jesus: They shall call His name Emmanuel” (which being interpreted is, “God with us”). Matthew 1:23b

Joseph: And he called His name JESUS. Matthew 1:25b


Wise Man 3
: They presented unto Him gifts: gold and frankincense and myrrh. Matthew 2:11b

Candy Canes hanging from tinsel-garland and lights
I learned this one from my grandparents on Dad’s side. I know you are probably asking about the stocking in the middle of the wall. Let’s just say that it was the easiest place to hang it. I’ll keep the step-stool out for Santa though πŸ˜‰

Responses

  1. Hi Scott,

    I like the cactus! It makes me miss Arizona. The fact that it was -20 out last week makes me miss Arizona too. Glad I found your site!

  2. Chris! You found me! πŸ™‚ I actually had that stocking before being in AZ. Must have been predestination πŸ˜‰ The nice thing about it being that cold in Cody last week was that the snow actually stayed on the ground rather than blowing over to South Dakota πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

