Posted by: Scott | Tuesday, December 13, 2005

Does Liberty and Pursuit of Happiness over-rule Life of another?

You have probably all seen the article that takes you through four scenarios, the fourth one being:

A teenage girl is pregnant. She is not married. Her fiancee is not the father of the baby, and he is very upset. Would you recommend an abortion?

If you say yes to this scenario, or any of the others, you have voted in favor of “aborting” Jonathan Edwards (the revival preacher of the Great Awakening), Beethoven (composer of now-classical music) Ethel Waters (black Gospel singer), and the Lord Jesus Christ. Now, these are hypotheticals, but they do make you think. Are there conditions where abortions should be permitted? What if these four had been “aborted”?

There is another site out there (I can’t even bring myself to point it out to others, so please, don’t ask) that takes you through a similar quiz where, if you are as strongly pro-life as I am, you have allowed the births of men that, in their adult years, became mass murders, one of them being one who boasts of hundreds of thousands-plus “successful” abortions. Does the way some one turns out 20 years after birth validate abortion? The site I found this quiz on seems to think so (that or I am an extremist right-wing cook [pronounced cuke]).

Folks, it has been over 30 years since Roe vs. Wade became the law of the land via the Judicial Branch of our national government. There are a lot of us that are fed up with the extremes that have followed this ruling (no parental or spousal notification, partial-birth, etc…). I was born in an era that I could have legally been “aborted.” I am glad I wasn’t. I was born to my single mother. Over a legal process of the next couple years, I was adopted by the married couple I have called Mom and Dad for years more than I can remember. It is not because my mother hated me. She loved me (and still does). She loved me enough that she wanted me to grow up with a mother and a father. She also wanted to see me grow. That is why her brother and sister-in-law have legally been my parents for 24 years this January.

Last night, I went on Sharper Iron and noticed that they have some banner advertisements in place for some pro-life organizations. The computer I was on didn’t have an ad blocker like mine, so that is how I noticed them. Baptists for Life is one organization that is working hard to preserve the Constitutional right to life. They have a links page that is full of other committed pro-life web-sites.

If you want the facts on abortion (you know, the ones that they don’t tell you on the evening news) check out Abort73.com. You can sign up on their mailing list and get a free book in defense of being pro-life. There is also a forum full of discussion on important aspects of the pro-life cause.

My friends, this is the time of year that we celebrate and remember Christ’s birth. The social conditions He was born into were not easy or convenient. Many children today are not born into easy or convenient social conditions. But they have hope, if we give it to them. Adoption is many times a great choice that you seldom hear mentioned in the debate of “give birth or abort.”

Is it right for us, especially Christians, to remember the birth of the One who came to give life more abundant, yet stand by and do nothing while many more than you or I could ever imagine daily have their lives taken away by “medical professionals”? I’m not so sure that it is. And if the pro-life movement is gaining ground in the battle, now more than ever, is the time to enlist. You say the pro-life movement is not gaining ground in the battle? Well friend, it is still time, now more than ever, to enlist.

Responses

  1. Scott,

    Nice article. I like the way you connected this issue to the season and the encouragement to get involved.

    I also appreciated the testimony concerning God’s grace in your life in allowing you to be born to a mother who did not take the “easy” path of abortion when faced with her tough situation years ago.

    Keep up the good work. I like the new site a lot. (It has me thinking about switching blog hosts!)

    In Christ,

    Pastor Frank Sansone

  2. Pastor Sansone: WP.com seems to be a stable blog host (third times a charm 🙂 ). Would love to have you join the community!

    God has been good. In my “older years” I have really come to appreciate the illustration of the Christian’s adoption in Christ.

    Everyone: I forgot to mention in my haste of posting the other day that Abort73 does contain many graphic videos and pictures. Although the images drive home the message, I would advise a fair amount of discretion around younger children.

    I received an e-mail update from Abort73 today. In it was a link to the dramatic testimony of a 21 year old that recently went through an abortion.


Leave a Reply

Categories

