Posted by: Scott | Wednesday, December 21, 2005

A Good Catch

One of my coworkers last night said I was “a good catch” for whomever it is that would catch me. I thought that was a pretty nice compliment. Of course, that got me to thinking that when that special someone does come along, some might think there was something fishy about me or her (whoever “her” happens to be). Plus, there are plenty that know about my ability to come up with puns without thinking. It could be that she might get many questions asked of her by others, one question in particular: “So, why did you decide to accept Scott’s courtship/dating/going out/seeing each other (choose one) offer?” Possible answers she could give include, but aren’t limited to the following:

  • “Oh, I just wanted to trout (translated for the pun-illiterate: try out) something new”
  • “He gave me a good line.”
  • “He’s a lot better than Rod*”
    *for the record, I know no one in my age group or otherwise named Rod
  • “He’s the only guy that seems reel (real).”
  • “He was willing to give me anything and everything, including the kitchen sinker (kitchen sink).”
  • “From the moment I met him, I was hooked on his personality.”
  • “I didn’t have to de-bait (debate) when he cast a glance my way.”
  • “He seems like a guy that is willing to tackle most any project while thinking outside the box.”

If you can think of any other “answers,” feel free to post. Who knows, it may be in the very near future that we both realize that we’ve crossed each other’s paths. 😉

Leave a Reply

Categories

