Posted by: Scott | Friday, December 23, 2005

Wishing you a Merry Christmas

This morning one of our regular shoppers came in as he always does, about 4 or 5 on Friday morning. He is an older gentleman, but every time I see him, I can’t help but smile. He is so cheerful, and usually, he gets in his greeting before I do.

This morning, the day before the day of the Eve of Christmas (that’s Dec. 23, for those of you that went to public school 🙂 ) was no different. He greeted me and came down my aisle. We exchanged pleasantries and asked how each other was doing and so on. He went on with his shopping, but before leaving the aisle, wished me a “happy holiday.” I almost said “You too.” but caught myself and went ahead and said “Have a merry Christmas.” He stopped and turned around, came back, still smiling. He told me that he used to always say Merry Christmas and how disappointed he was that it seems like everyone wants “happy holidays” now. I shared his disappointment, and explained that there is some resistance to the holiday movement, enough to where it is even making the news, and that there is maybe only one or two percent that are offended at “Merry Christmas.”

I do hope that you have a merry Christmas. Not a happy holiday, or a merry Xmas, but a merry Christmas. I did mention earlier this month that I would give you some of my Christmas movie recommendations, so here they are:

  • A Christmas Carol Which one you ask? That is a good question! For the content of the classic Charles Dickens novel, I would highly recommend the 1951 Alastair Sim version (in B
Leave a Reply

Categories

