Posted by: Scott | Monday, January 30, 2006

Men’s Retreat 2006

Yes, I’m still around! Just got back this afternoon from some time (since the 26th) in the Big Horn Mountains, east of Cody. My reason for being there? Read the title of this post! 🙂 It was a great time of fellowship with the men from church and a great time hearing the teaching and preaching of Dr. Bob Jones III (a.k.a. Dr. Bob).

There are certain folks you hear of, and you just expect them to be a “certain way.” For instance, Dr. Bob (for the very few of you that don’t know, he’s the former president of Bob Jones University in Greenville, SC) is one that I always picture as a “suit and tie” type. And I’m sure that on many occasions he is. However, some of you may be shocked to hear (read, learn) that Dr. Bob wore blue jeans the entire weekend. The blue jeans were replaced with a suit for Sunday services at church. I almost didn’t recognize him when he walked in. 😀
We also had a shooting range. The men made sure that everyone had a chance to shoot. I observed for quite some time, and was impressed with Dr. Bob’s shooting skills. Why? Well, Dr. Bob shooting clay pigeons is not the first image I see when I hear his name mentioned. Well, now it is, but before it was not. He is a down-to-earth man and a fine preacher of the Word of God.

Responses

  1. Hi Scott,
    The first time I meet Dr. Bob was this last year at the men’s retreat at Red Cliff Bible Camp. He sat down with the guys in the our church one night for dinner and traded moose hunting stories. The guys were pretty impressed with him not having heard of him before.

  2. Scott,

    I remember when I first saw Dr. Bob outside of the college environment and my reaction was similar to yours. I had finished my Sophomore year at BJU and Dr. Bob was scheduled to be a speaker for a week of Teen Camp at Camp Ironwood in California where I was working as a counselor. I liked Dr. Bob as the President of the school, but I had serious questions about how he would relate to teenage campers at Ironwood.

    To say the least, I was pleasantly surprised. He related EXTREMELY well to the teens. He talked with them and listened to them. As you mentioned, he wore jeans (that almost threw me for a loop) and did not come across “igh and mighty” or anything like I might have expected. (Please understand that I did not have a bad view of him to start with, I just thought of him as this dignified University President and thought that he would be out of his “element” at the camp). As an added bonus, he preached great – right at the level of the teens who were there for the week. In my opinion, his week was the second best week of preaching to the teens of the entire summers worth of evangelists (At the time, I thought John Goetsch did the best out of the speakers that summer) – which, again, was not my expectation. I liked his preaching at the University fine, but I had thought that he would not relate well in his messages to the teens at the camp.

    Anyway, I have the opportunity to hear and interact with him a couple of times since then in “less than formal” settings and have found that he is very much at home in those settings and will talk to you and answer tough questions (asked properly) and is genuinely “down-to-earth” as you said.

    In Christ,

    Pastor Frank Sansone


Leave a Reply

Categories

