Posted by: Scott | Thursday, February 16, 2006

VP Speaks; Media still mad

Yesterday I woke up to the 5 o’clock news and saw Vice President Cheney was on Fox News Special Report w/Brit Hume. Haha! It wasn’t a press conference. After all, the majority of the excutive suporters watch FOX News anyway, so you might as well speak to them first (as opposed to trying to win over your enemies on the “other network”).

As you’ve probably heard, , he took full responsibility for the ACCIDENT. He was the one that pulled the trigger, etc… Some excerpts from the FOX News transcript:

He was dressed in orange, he was dressed properly, but he was also — there was a little bit of a gully there so he was down a little ways below land level. All I could see was the upper part of his body — but I didn’t see it at the time I shot, until after I fired. And the sun was directly behind him there, affected the vision too, I’m sure.

But the image of him falling is something that I’ll never be able to get out of my mind. I fired and there’s Harry falling, and it was, I’d have to say, one of the worst days of my life, at that moment. …
I ran over to him and…

He was laying there on his back, obviously, bleeding. You could see where the shot had struck him. And one of the fortunate things was that I’ve always got a medical team that’s covering me wherever I go, and I had a physician’s assistant with me that day. Within a minute or two, he was on the scene, administering first aid. …
well I said, “Harry, I had no idea you were there.”

HUME: What did he say?

CHENEY: He didn’t respond. He was bleeding, conscious at that point, but he didn’t — he was I’m sure stunned, obviously, still trying to figure out what had happened to him. And the doc was fantastic.

If you read on through the transcript, you will note that accuracy in reporting was a key concern. That is why the ranch owner was asked to report to the local and national media what happened (she saw everything; Vice President Cheney only saw Mr. Whittington leave). Oh, and by the way, he (Mr. Cheney) had a beer five hours before at lunch. I’m not neccessarily supporting his choice of drink, other than his moderation (a beer–singular–as opposed to a six-pack of beers–plural) and that he left a decent window of time before grabbing the trigger.
So, now we know more of the process of what went on and why. Result, a still angry media because it won’t be long that this will no longer be a story. Expect forced attempts at stretching this out as long as can be. Titles like Huntergate will likely emerge and prominent liberal politicians will likely call for an investigation, if not an impeachment.

Is it time for the media to give it a rest? Ya! It was time a couple days ago! Will they? Na; probably, yea, likely not

Leave a Reply

Categories

