Posted by: Scott | Friday, March 24, 2006

Ya Gotta Have a Mustache

We interrupt this broadcast to bring you some light-hearted news. I don’t know why I threw this in the out of the ordinary category. Apparently it’s becoming ordinary once again. Yes, folks, for once, I was ahead of the game! Ha-ha! That’s why it’s out of the ordinary! 😀

The mustache is back! :-{) This week has seen morning news shows talking about the campaign to bring back the mustache. Not grow a goatee or sideburns or that micro-goatee thing that is almost not noticable, but a mustache. Three years ago this May, I began to grow out, not a “summer mustache,” but a permanent mustache. known as Bible college grad syndrome By the year’s end, I had embarked on a beard as well. Both happily remain.

In honor of this campaign, I would like to nominate a song written by the late Sean Blackburn as the official theme song:

Ya gotta have a mustache to be cool.
Ya gotta have a mustache or your a fool.
O, you just ain’t hip without that fur up on your upper lip.
Ya gotta have a mustache.

Ya gotta have a mustache unless you’re a girl.
Ya gotta have a mustache that curls.
Without them handlebars, you can ride your bike but you know you won’t get too far.
Ya gotta have a mustache.

Ya gotta have a mustache or a beard.
Ya gotta have a mustache or you’re weird.
When you pour your jug, you better make sure that it’s into a mustache-mug.
Ya gotta have a mustache.

Ya gotta have a mustache to be cool.
Ya gotta have a mustache or your a fool.
O, you just ain’t hip without that fur up on your upper lip.
Ya gotta have a mustache. Ya gotta have a mustache.

Written and recorded by Sean Blackburn on North By Southwest LP with Dakota Dave Hull, (1978) and on Kids At Heart LP with Liz Masterson (1993)

Responses

  1. After all, kissin’ a man without a mustache is like eatin’ eggs without salt. (maybe that’s why my man’s had one for the better part of 34 years!)

  2. If I ever get married, can you tell the one who will be my bride that (in the event that facial hair is looked down on)?

  3. If your gonna bring the stache back it’s gotta be Fu Manchu. I sported it for a while till the annoying breeze I felt on my chin became to much for me to bare. Now I am back to the VanDyke. Hello Scotty 2 Hottie! Long time no hear. Hope and pray all is well with you and yours.

  4. Chad! What a surprise! I was just thinking of you the other day. Long time no hear indeed….

    Tust all is well for you as well.


Leave a Reply

Categories

