Posted by: Scott | Saturday, April 1, 2006

Once adopted, always adopted

OK, this is one of those posts that by the end of it, you might be saying, "Why did he choose that category?!?!?!?" Well, I chose that (those) category(ies) because this is my blog and I will categorize as I see fit. If you don't like it, there are a great many blog-hosts out there (the best being WordPress.com, of course)

Anyway, back to what I was saying, before I was pre-emptively interrupted by your thoughts. I am ever so proud to announce, on behalf of my good friends Nathan and Bethany, that another pregnancy has ended, and yet another offspring is breathing on her own! That's right, Nathan and Bethany have welcomed their first child into the world. Wow! It seems like it was not that long ago that I was calling Nathan and jokingly telling him about how I might not be able to get to AZ because of inadvertently booking my ticket for the following year. What was a joke turned into real life when I arrived in Salt Lake City and lo, there was a delay that threatened my timely arrival. I did make it to the wedding, even rehearsal, only slightly late, and some day, I hope to have my own–I know, I know, the wedding, as they say, belongs to the bride, but hey, if I am getting married to my beloved bride in her wedding, I think most will understand that I would like to claim some ownership of the to-be-celebrated event–though I fear what Nathan has in mind for "getting me back."

Anyways, what I was going to say was not only do Nathan and Bethany have their first child (and daughter), but I have my first niece! I have been graciously declared an adopted uncle of the Mestler offspring. Thus, it is only natural that I should adopt little Macy as my niece. Important to me, being, not only an only child, but also an adopted one! The only child status really puts a damper on the nephew/niece/uncle relationship prospect, and then, well, being adopted at a young age, by my parents who love me quite a bit more than I deserve, it is good to be adopted once more.

Indeed the most amazing adoption of all was the day that I was adopted into the family of God and made a joint-heir with the Lord Jesus:

Rom 8:14-17 (ESV)
For all who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God.
For you did not receive the spirit of slavery to fall back into fear, but you have received the Spirit of adoption as sons, by whom we cry, "Abba! Father!" The Spirit himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God, and if children, then heirs–heirs of God and fellow heirs with Christ, provided we suffer with him in order that we may also be glorified with him.

To quote from a chorus I first heard back in '98, ain't God good to give us so many blessings?

Also, I need to send out a congratulations to some other friends, Joe and Rebeckah, on the delivery of their second son, Caleb (and this time, they got what they expected)!

Responses

  1. Scottie–
    Thanks for the kind words. You’ll be a great unlce. She is blessed to have so many people in her life that care for her. We are blessed to have so many good friends, of which you are one of the best.

    God bless,
    Nathan

  2. My brother (In Christ and by virtue of your daughter being my niece):

    You are too kind. It is a blessing to count you among my friends.

  3. […] just about nearly thrown myself into a fit of confusion over my niece’s age. She is in fact two years old, not three like I was about to type here. The thought of tomorrow being the third annual […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

