Posted by: Scott | Friday, April 28, 2006

Have you forgotten?

Today a new movie is released: United 93. This movie chronicles the first victory in the War on Terrorism. There is much debate about whether America is ready for a 9/11 theatrical movie. I myself don't plan to see United 93 in the theaters, but when it gets out on video/DVD, I do. Some quotes from Daryl Worely's post 9/11 song, Have you Forgotten?

They took all the footage off my T.V.
Said it's too disturbing for you and me
It'll just breed anger that's what the experts say
If it was up to me I'd show it everyday
Some say this country's just out looking for a fight
Well after 9/11 man I'd have to say that's right

If anything, United 93 should make us proud. Everyday citizens heard about what was going on and in the midst of their plane being hijacked, they stood up and gave the ultimate sacrifice to protect our nation from the remaining attack of the day. The footage of the Towers and Pentagon doesn't have to be glorified. It can be shown soberly with a reminder that  a nation's military is not the only threat possible. 

Have you forgotten all the people killed?
Some went down like heros in that Pennsylvania field
Have you forgotten about our Pentagon?
And all the loved ones that we lost and those left to carry on
Don't you tell me not to worry about bin Laden
Have you forgotten?

I am not advocating viewing this event as entertainment. From what has been reported, the families of United 93 heros were closely involved in the production. I would tend to think of this as a documentary. Keep in mind it is rated "R." So far the critics are singing the praises of United 93 (I know, they've been wrong on many occasions). Not having seen it yet, my first reaction is to agree.

Responses

  1. It is amazing to see how quickly those men and women figured out the situation they were in and tried to do something about it. I remember telling my wife that this will be the last time a plane is taken hijack in America. If the 9/11 hijackers tried it again today the outcome would be very different.


Leave a Reply

Categories

