Posted by: Scott | Sunday, May 14, 2006

Mothers’ Day

So, today is the day we honor our mothers. Well, actually we are always supposed to honor them (and our fathers). But this is the day we give them special attention. Call them on our dime, send a bouquet of flowers, a card, etc….

I have to work twice as hard on this day. I have two mothers. Not like Rosie O'Donnell's kids have two mothers. No, I have my birth mother and my adopted mother. My birth mother now carries the title aunt and her sister-in-law (that is, her brother's wife) is now my former aunt. Actually, it's been that way legally since early '82.

Both of my moms are special to me. My birth mother gave birth to me (profound, I know) and when she wanted me to have a father and a mother, and my aunt and uncle wanted a child, someone in the group got the idea of adoption. I got to always know my birth mother, though it was not until my mid-teens that I learned who she was, and she got to watch me grow up and be with me at family events and never looking out of place.

My adopted mother filled the role of mom in my life as if I were bone of her bone and flesh of her flesh. She always made sure that I knew I was special for being adopted answered questions when they needed to be. And her side of the family adopted me as if I were there own grandson/nephew/cousin…

Happy Mothers' Day to all you mothers out there, especially to the two I've been blessed with in my life. I love you!

Leave a Reply

Categories

