Posted by: Scott | Tuesday, June 27, 2006

New Shoes

Well, it finally happened. No, I’m still single as ever, but I did buy a new pair of shoes. For the past couple months, I’ve been my own two income family and both jobs have me on my feet. I’ve been wearing steel-toed work boots to both jobs and for the past several weeks my feet have been screaming for relief.

Soooo, the other night, I went to Wal-Mart and perused the  shoes, searching for a pair of inexpensive somewhat-high tops. I like ankle support (aside from wearing cowboy boots to church) and have since Dad go me started way back in elementary school. One problem: even the athletic shoes are now cut below the ankle.

After much contemplation I decided on a pair of shoes and a pair of ankle braces to compensate for the lack of built-in ankle support. As a fair trade, the shoes of choice had built-in Dr. Scholl’s insoles.

Result: My feet love me again. They can breathe thanks to whatever material the toes of the shoes are made of. The breathing thing is really cool when I walk into the wind. And the separate ankle braces are doing their job.

So, why did I write all this? My friend Matthew commented on his footwear a while back, so I figured why not.

Leave a Reply

Categories

