Posted by: Scott | Sunday, July 9, 2006

The Last Single of PCS ’98

Last week I posted about an unexpected reunion with one of my high school classmates. You may recall I felt terrible bad about not catching up with her, though she asked about what all I was doing these days. Well, she showed up again today, so after church, I confessed my guilt feelings and inquired as to what she was up to. Fortunately, she did not think me to be too inconsiderate for not inquiring about her.

Anyway, in the course of catching up, I met Amanda’s husband, and so I remain the only single in the Park Christian School Class of ’98 ๐Ÿ˜ฏ ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

Responses

  1. Hey Scott,
    Do you know how I could get in touch with Amanda? I too have been lax in keeping in touch with classmates. I saw Truth and Amanda two years ago at our Wyoming reception, but I haven’t been in touch with Amanda since she was engaged, and have tried unsuccessfully to find out her email. If you know, can you send me a PM? Thanks!

  2. Oh, and “terrible bad”?? What kind of grammar is that? ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Ruth,
    I shall relay your greetings and inquire the next time I see her (could very well be this Sunday).

    To answer your question in regards to my gammer, I got my grammer from the same person everyone gets their grammer from: Great Grammer! (insert punch-line-type drum sound-effect here) ๐Ÿ˜€

    Seriously though (or maybe not), it is actually a little known dialect of the English language called Politicus Cowboyus. In that dialect’s rules of grammar, they followed an axiom that has, in recent years, been repopularized by a pastor in Worland, WY (just so happens to formerly be a Christian school administrator of Cody, WY ๐Ÿ˜‰ ): “Say what you mean and mean what you say.”

    In an attempt to follow this axiom, they realized that suffixes caused the learner (and sometimes the teacher, even the curriculum publisher) to suffer, so they developed a method of placing words together. For instance, if you wanted to intensify an adjective’s description, you would tack on as many adjectives as neccessary to do the task. Theoretically, I should have hyphenated the two adjectives in question, but that follows a more-slight-strict dialect called Politicus-Cowboyus-Correctus.

    Let it be known, though, that even if you don’t buy (or even borrow) the dialect story, at the very least, I indeed did intend to say “terrible bad.” (I know, not very succinct ๐Ÿ™‚ )


Leave a Reply

Categories

