Posted by: Scott | Tuesday, October 17, 2006

My Answers to the “One Book” Tag

  • One book that changed your life (other than the Bible):

I’ve perused the posts made by others that have been tagged and it is interesting that earlier posts didn’t have the Bible exemption clause. But alas, now it does and I suppose rightfully so, as without it, all of us would be saying “The BIBLE!”

On this, I would have to say either The Calvary Road by Roy Hession or Every Man’s Battle by Stephen Arterburn and Fred Stoeker. The Calvary Road is not at all thick, but it has a lot in it that pertains to the work of the Holy Spirit in the Christian’s life.

Every Man’s Battle confronts men head-on with the need to be on guard when it comes to dealing with sexual temptation and to face the fight one battle at a time, whether it is for saving yourself for your future wife or for your current wife. This book is not sugar coated.

  • One book you would read more than once:

Why Pro-Life by Randy Alcorn. This short book explores the scientific reasoning behind being pro-life; Scriptural counsel is included though it is not a major portion of the book.

  • One book you’d want on a desert(ed) island:

In my current marital/relational status, I would have to say I Kissed Dating Goodbye by Joshua Harris. It would be quite fitting, don’t you think?

I suppose the Reader’s Digest Practical Problem Solver wouldn’t be all that practical since there is no inclusion about what to do if on a desert(ed) island. Since this question probably presumes the tag-line besides the Bible, let’s go with Spurgeon’s Morning by Morning.

  • One book that made you laugh:

Anne Coulter has a knack for for being witty in Treason; I’m sure if I’d read it, I’d find former Sen. Al Simpson to be humorous in his book, Right in the Old’ Gazoo. Any number of joke books have also made me laugh.

  • One book that made you cry–or truly sad:

Living Proof, by Lt. Clebe McClary (USMC). A bio of a Vietnam vet who lost much physically on the battlefield. Another one is More Precious than Gold by Dr. John Vaughn where he recounts the fiery trial that his family has gone through for the past 30-some years now.

  • One book you wish had been written:

Hmmmm; This almost seems to presume I’ve read a whole lot of books, and I have at least read portions of such. A couple years ago, I would have said A Creationist’s Roadguide to the Yellowstone Area, but that has happened. I guess now my answer would have to be a Creationist’s Roadguide to the Grand Tetons or a Creationist’s Roadguide to Hot Springs State Park and Wind River Canyon.

  • One book you wish had never been written:

There’s plenty of them out there; Ruckman and Riplinger have certainly had their share in undesirable works; So have Joseph Smith and Mohammad.

  • One book you are currently reading:

One book?!?!? In Search of the Proverbs 31 Man by Michelle McKinney Hammond (yes, a book by a woman). In Monday Night Bible Study in Powell, we are going through Pleasures of God by John Piper We’ve just started into Pleasures and I don’t have my copy yet, so stay tuned for info on it; Prov. 31 Man has been a good read in getting a woman’s perspective on male/female relationships and no, it’s not feminist propaganda. In fact, the author criticizes the modern feminist movement for confusing men about what women expect and/or look for in a godly man.

  • One book you’ve been meaning to read:

An unfair question to someone who has recently inherited half of his grandfather’s library. So, discounting that fact, add to the list Heaven by Randy Alcorn and God’s Word Preserved by Mike Sproul

And now, the long-awaited list of people that are “it” (yes, I came up with these before answering the questions, but I kept them listed after my answers):

Others that have done this survey:

Responses

  1. Hi Scott,
    thanks for doing this. It actually wasn’t two months old. I initially drafted the post on blogger back in August. When I finally remembered to post it, it used the draft date, not the final post date. Blogger is goofy that way…I chuckled at the RD Prac. Prob. Solver–my dad gave it to me, and it is fairly useful outside of the deserted island…

  2. It is good to know that I was not two months late in responding to your challenge (though I was late responding here). Thank you for the tag; it forced me to think a lot!


Leave a Reply

Categories

