Posted by: Scott | Tuesday, October 24, 2006

When God “Doesn’t Answer” Prayer

For many, many, many, many, many many months I have been praying for a transfer to a daytime type of shift at work. My first attempt went nowhere as the manager that was working on that went to another store. Another attempt was initiated this summer, but somehow, I’ve always managed to miss the manager I needed to talk to. On top of that, I may have missed the prime opportunity midway through the summer with having an unexpected trip to Pueblo.

All this time, I have been asking God “Why?” How is it that my attempts to get somewhere go nowhere? Well, a little over a week ago, I got my answer. Correction, a few months ago, I got my answer; it just took me a while to discover it. A new lady came to overnight produce.

Overtime, she revealed that we had a common friend who used to be a coworker of mine. Time progressed and I pondered at where this new coworker might be spiritualy, knowing that our common friend is a Christian. Right while I was in the midst of this process, my coworker hit a “friendship crisis” that caused her to open up. She was confused over everything from friends how our friend could just take anything and everything to God and trust Him to “take care of it,” and even sin, salvation, baptism, God’s sovereignty, and man’s free will. In the space of an hour, I was getting questions coming at me from one person from all over the theological map. We did finally get to an admission for the need of salvation (remission of sins through faith in Christ alone). She went home with much to contemplate; I went home with much to contemplate and pray about.

Opportunity has continued to knock. One thing is for sure, this co-worker has kept me on my toes. I never know what she is going to ask about, but spiritual-talk is no longer an off limits area for us. She is being receptive to the message; at first she couldn’t understand why/how our friend could believe this or that. Now she can’t understand why/how I can give the same anwer to a question she posed to our friend. She just wishes that once, our friend would be wrong.

A major stumbling block to salvation has been removed in my coworker’s life. It almost seems that she is || to receiving Christ as her personal Savior.

So, what I have, for many a month perceived to be an “unanswered” prayer has actually been a blessing.

But sanctify the Lord God in your hearts: and be ready always to give an answer to every man that asketh you a reason of the hope that is in you, with meekness and fear. (1 Pet. 3:15)

The Lord is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is long-suffering toward us, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance. (2 Pet. 3:9)

Leave a Reply

Categories

