Posted by: Scott | Friday, October 27, 2006

Half-Off Day Once Again!

Clark’s DQ Last Day (’till spring)Today is a day that us Cody folk look forward to.

It is commonly called Half-Off Day (at least, that’s what I commonly call it).  The celebratory observation is the majority of the locals traveling over to Clark’s Dairy Queen and indulging on any number of items from the menu while they last. Some may even go so far as to stock up on Dilly Bars. After all, everything is 50% off! 🙂 Not only that, if you get a Dilly Bar craving in the middle of Winter, you have to wait for February or March to satisfy it (or take a road trip to the next nearest DQ).

My Half-Off Meal Deal (2006)I took in a Flame Thrower value meal (large sized) and a Brownie Earthquake for just over $5.

Some bloggers that may be interested to know that I took part in the Half-Off Day celebration:

Responses

  1. AWWWWW, it’s been so long since I participated in half-off day. Actually, we usually WORKED half-off day, so I didn’t always get to take advantage of it. Second to the 4th of July it was the busiest day of the year. I do remember Mrs. Clark used to get really cranky on that day. 🙂 I wonder if anyone else I know still works at the ol’ DQ

    Thanks for the reminder, Scott.

  2. I have many a fond memory of Clark’s Dairy Queen in Cody. Sounds like a fun day!

  3. Scott, I hated half-off day! I worked at DQ and everybody and their dogs (I mean that literally, we had one regular who would order an ice cream for her dog) would come in on that day. Sure the savings were great, but it was next to the fourth of July with craziness. The best part of Half-off day was whatever did not sell, we would divide up with those on shift and take it home. Sometimes we had great treasures, sometimes a hot dog.

  4. Sounds like there was a moderate liking of the day when you average in the behind-the-counter experience with the in-front-of-the-counter experience 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

