Posted by: Scott | Thursday, November 9, 2006

Keep Hope Alive

OK, here we are, a few days after Election Day, the Dems will control the House and (likely) the Senate. Fortunately, Rep. Cubin retained her seat (though narrowly). However, fear not, our retained Governor says that Wyoming is still GOP Country:

This doesn’t suddenly make this a Democratic state; it’s still a Republican state, I think the message for both parties is, get your act together, quit throwing rocks, and govern.

That’s precisely what some of us (i.e. those of us that voted for Ray Hunkins) were saying Mr. Governor. In the report the Governor goes on to blame the Hunkins campaign for things done by the WYGOP. But, that didn’t go unanswered:

I really am quite surprised at that, because it’s blatantly untrue; the governor knows it’s untrue,” Hunkins said. “We ran a very positive campaign; we talked about issues. We put issues out on the table. There was no negative campaigning on my part.

I’m not one for making predictions , but I believe we’ll see Mr. Hunkins again in 2010. At any rate, after the news of Don Rumsfeld’s resignation, Rush Limbaugh had this to say:

I believe my side is worthy of victory, and I believe it’s much easier to reform things that are going wrong on my side from a position of strength. Now I’m liberated from having to constantly come in here every day and try to buck up a bunch of people who don’t deserve it, to try to carry the water and make excuses for people who don’t deserve it. I did not want to sit here and participate, willingly, in the victory of the libs, in the victory of the Democrat Party by sabotaging my own. But now with what has happened yesterday and today, it is an entirely liberating thing. If those in our party who are going to carry the day in the future — both in Congress and the administration — are going to choose a different path than what most of us believe, then that’s liberating. I don’t say this with any animosity about anybody, and I don’t mean to make this too personal.

Folks, the Democratic electoral win is not the end of the world. When you get a loss, you figure out what went wrong, regroup, plan, go forward and express clearly what you believe. The Next two years for theĀ  GOP on all levels should be interesting…

Responses

  1. Even though I think Hunkins is a great Republican, I’m hoping we’ll see Harriet Hageman run for governor in 2010. She’s an amazing conservative on every issue!

  2. I’ve also heard the murmurings of a possible Cynthia Lummis (outgoing State Treasurer) 2010 campaign. I just hope that we don’t have a disaster in ’10 like we did in ’02 or ’06


Leave a Reply

Categories

