Posted by: Scott | Friday, December 8, 2006

This’ll Get People Talking….

Just wanted to let you know that I’m getting married! I’m still in shock myself. Spread the news! At any rate, she is a very godly lady and I’m sure we’ll get along just fine. I don’t yet know when or where the wedding is happening, or even to whom I’m getting married, but I’ll let you know as soon as the details are worked out.  At any rate, Mom and Grandma want to plan a wedding, and so they told me that I’m getting married so that they can do just that! 🙂

They said they’d even “ask her” for me. At first I was perplexed, even a little concerned, but then as I thought about it, I figured it might just be a more biblical way. Think of Isaac in Gen. 24. Abraham sent one of his own servants on the quest for Isaac’s bride and Isaac didn’t even get to go on the journey to say, “Hey, she looks nice, let’s see if she has the spiritual qualifications…”! No, he got to stay home and work while his father’s servant went on the search.

So, there you have it; I am totally relieved of all the pressures of “the search.” No more fretting and wondering if I should have asked this one or that one. Mom and Grandma are on the job!  If this works out well, I just might write a book called I Kissed Dating and Courting Goodbye 🙂

Pre-Approved Eligibility for her:

  • Single
  • 20-something
  • Godly
  • Saved by grace through faith in Christ alone

These are only the initial requirements; more info to come…..

Responses

  1. I hope Bronco fan is somewhere on your list for Eligibility. We would hate for you to lower your standards. 🙂

  2. As I mentioned in the post, the standards listed were to attain pre-approved status. Sorta like when you get a credit card application in the mail:

    *meet a set of initial standards
    *receive an application
    *fill it out or call
    *see if you meet the standards to be fully approved…

    Hopefully the ladies won’t rip that illustration to shreds (like they do with pre-approved credit card applications… 😀 )

    There is a little negotiability on the Broncos fan issue. As long as she can at least be tolerant of “Broncos fandom,” she can survive the approval process, although the rating does increase for total mutuality of “Broncos fandom”.

  3. […] I’d like to call attention to my friend and (ex) roommate from college (for some reason I get a 404 when I go to the page… odd), Scott. He wrote about his non single singleness state. Click here to read.    Filed under: Blog by Matt | […]

  4. I like that: non-single singleness. I wonder if there is a box for that status on the tax forms this year….

  5. HAHAHA!!!
    The quest is on, huh? Your mom and grandma sure are serious about wanting to plan a wedding! Well, that does take some load off.. congrats!


Leave a Reply

Categories

