Posted by: Scott | Saturday, January 13, 2007

Speaking of Abortion…

Abortion is heating up here in the Cowboy State Legislature!

A bill pending in the Wyoming Legislature would require Wyoming doctors who perform abortions to tell their patients about alternatives and inform them of potential risks and side effects before performing the procedure. 

Rep. Bob Brechtel (R-Casper) is the main sponsor of “The Woman’s Right to Know Act.” Similar legislation failed two years ago. Pro-abortionists say that this legislaton is aimed at eroding abortion rights and that medical standards should be set by the pros in the field, not lawmakers. I could support that notion:

Most especially must I tread with care in matters of life and death. If it is given me to save a life, all thanks. But it may also be within my power to take a life; this awesome responsibility must be faced with great humbleness and awareness of my own frailty. Above all, I must not play at God.

Or as is even better stated in another modern rendition of the oath:

I WILL FOLLOW that method of treatment which according to my ability and judgment, I consider for the benefit of my patient and abstain from whatever is harmful or mischievous. I will neither prescribe nor administer a lethal dose of medicine to any patient even if asked nor counsel any such thing nor perform the utmost respect for every human life from fertilization to natural death and reject abortion that deliberately takes a unique human life.

Sounds like some of the pros need to correct to the standard.

Leave a Reply

Categories

