Posted by: Scott | Tuesday, February 27, 2007

An Inconvenient Mansion

I meant to get on this last night, but I didn’t. Sorry. So, for those of you that don’t listen to Rush or Mike Reagan, or peruse the Drudge website or Everything Cody, I have some breaking news for you! For the rest of you, just pretend that your surprised, OK?

First off, let me just say that I really don’t care in slightest about how much someone spends on their utility bills. If they can pay $x to keep the lights on all day, more power to them (no pun intended). You might know (or have inferred) that I am nowhere near an enviro-wacko. I do believe that we as humans are called to have dominion over the earth (see the opening chapters of Genesis), and thus the girz and the wolf should not have more rights than we humans do. At the same time we need to take care of God’s creation.

I’m also not a freak about global warming. I do believe in a form of it, just that the type of global warming I believe in the Earth comes out better than what it is now and floods are the least of our worries (see Gen. 6-9). I however won’t be on the Earth when it (the climax of global warming) happens, but I’ll get to see the beauty of the restored Earth! It’s a far cry from the political extremism that’s being proclaimed today.

So, Al Bore wins an Oscar for his docu-drama scam. I don’t recall the category (best sleep inducer or something like that). He wants us all to use less energy and stuff. For this (and inventing the internet), he gets nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize.  Well, have you heard about his (20 bed/8 bath) mansion? Turns out, he may not be obeying his own demands advice:

The average household in America consumes 10,656 kilowatt-hours (kWh) per year, according to the Department of Energy. In 2006, Gore devoured nearly 221,000 kWh—more than 20 times the national average.

Last August alone, Gore burned through 22,619 kWh—guzzling more than twice the electricity in one month than an average American family uses in an entire year.

Since the release of An Inconvenient Truth, Gore’s energy consumption has increased from an average of 16,200 kWh per month in 2005, to 18,400 kWh per month in 2006.

In 2006, that amounts to $30K. Must be nice to be rich enough to produce a movie about reducing energy consumption and then go out and use the revenue to consume energy. On top of that, he buys permission to use everyone else’s unused energy consumption! (I don’t have a link for this yet; if you find it before me, post it in a comment) How does that reduce energy consumption and greenhouse gases???

Responses

  1. What you and I fail to understand is that the ‘Limo Liberals’ and their pals ‘Hollyweird’ are not required to live by the mundane rules and restrictions placed on us. They are above everyone else, so they have privilege. Why we fail to see how special they are boggles their minds.

  2. But…he’s a celebrity 🙂

  3. That’s right, I forgot they can set the standard high for everyone but them….Audios, reality!

  4. Gasp! Are you kidding me? You are the best at breaking news Scott. (In my best surprised typing) 🙂

  5. Darnit. My mom got the “surprised typing” line down before I did.

    But seriously, this breaks my heart. I always held Al Gore in such high esteem. I thought he was such an inspirational political figure. Now, to find out that he’s a hypocrite of the worst sort, to discover that he is not taking the imminent threat of global warming as serious as he claims to be? My heart is broken. I am shocked. You thought the liberals needed psychological counseling after the 2000 and 2004 elections… well, that is nothing compared to finding out that Al Gore is not the pure, energy-saving, internet-inventing deity that he seemed.

    (In my best sarcastic typing. I had to make do with what was left.)

  6. Well, now that I’ve broken the news, I supposed I should fix it. Let’s see, what did I do with that news repair manual….

    Tieki, my condolences to you in your time of grief. It is indeed hard to see a politician take such a hard fall. But hey, on a positive note, John McCain has upgraded to full-fledged candidate. 🙂

  7. Gore’s over-the-top energy use doesn’t stop at his electric bill. The natural gas bills for Gore’s mansion and guest house averaged $1,080 per month last year.


Leave a Reply

Categories

