Posted by: Scott | Tuesday, September 11, 2007

Support Your Local Housekeeper

I know some popular folks in media take criticism for being personal and self-indulging in things about themselves. Well, I’ve not shied from doing that here, and I don’t intend to stop. In fact, this post is a continuation of that behavior.

I’m pleased to announce that this week is National Housekeeper’s Week. Support your local housekeeper (local to wherever you happen to be right now) and stay in a motel somewhere. Tip generously as some housekeepers may be doing “the Dave Ramsey plan” and cleaning your motel room to get extra income to expedite their journey into debt freedom.

You might be asking, How do you know it’s national Housekeeper’s Week? Because my boss at the motel I am a housekeeper at (in fact the longest serving current housekeeper there–18 months this October) said so! That’s how I know.

If you need further proof, Google it.

Responses

  1. Dave Ramsey gives great advice. I hope your journey into debt freedom is a quick and successful one. I’m on the other side now and I assure you that it is totally worth it!

  2. Thank you for the encouragement my friend. That’s also part of “the plan” if I remember right 🙂

    There was a time (late ’05/early ’06) when I denied the seriousness of the problem I had, primarily because I didn’t know what the first step to solving it was (now I know that the first step is admitting the existence of the problem, which I didn’t want to do).

    Anyway, I was already in correction mode when I started listening to what Mr. Ramsey had to say and I have been helped an encouraged by his advice. I was almost reluctant to move off the overnight shift (aside from the fact that I was headed for serious trouble if I didn’t) because it meant income going down, but I have a forthcoming post about some good news concerning that.

  3. Since I am my own housekeeper, I will support myself this week. Probably by not doing any housekeeping, but it’s good to know that millions of Americans are thinking of me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

