Posted by: Scott | Thursday, December 31, 2009

“Top 10” for 2009

Ever find it interesting that news organizations will compile a “top 10” list of headlines at the end of the year, but at the end of the decade, they don’t consolidate their top 10’s into a top 100 list???

I’m not a news organization, nor have I blogged nearly enough on here to have a top 10 for the year, but I have done much reporting of things going on over the past year via Twitter and Facebook. So, as the year comes to a close, I figured I’d give you my own top 10 list for 2009:

1) Wyoming was one of two states to have its entire Congressional delegation in Washington, D.C. inaugurated. in 2008, We reelected Senator Enzi to his third term, elected to have Sen. Barrasso finish out the balance of the term his was appointed to fill in 2007, and elected former State Treasurer Cynthia Lummis to her first term in the U.S. House.

2) The Wyoming Young Republicans acquired enough members to begin organizing for a state convention and continue in the application and chartering process into the Young Republican National Federation.

3) A longtime friend of the family got married and moved to England.

4) I had a seizure while driving in town en route to my parents. Thankfully, I landed in a lilac bush and no other vehicles or pedestrians were involved in the wreck. The incident marked my second seizure (I had one in Nov. 2001 while in AZ). A CAT Scan in the ER revealed a case of sinusitis, but otherwise nothing wrong. An MRI and EEG in Billings, MT detected and attributed the seizure to a “gap” abnormality in my brain. By state law, I would have to go seizure-free and refrain from driving for 90 days.

5) The Wyoming Young Republicans held it’s first state convention in Casper, WY. A Constitution and bylaws were approved and officers elected. Party and elected Wyoming Republicans, as well as potential 2010 Wyoming Republican Gubernatorial candidates attended and spoke to those of us in attendance.

6) The Wyoming Young Republicans were chartered into the Young Republicans National Federation at the YRNF National Convention in Indianapolis.

7) My Grandma underwent surgery for breast cancer.

8 ) After a quick, but long 90 days, Aug. 31 arrived and I was able to reunite with the driver’s seat of my car. I drove to the end of the Southfork, and then into town and all over the Big Horn Basin. I logged over 300 miles taking in not only the experience of driving, but some beautiful Wyoming scenery.

9) I visited my dentist after experiencing a severe toothache turned headache at work. X-Rays were unable to detect a tooth problem because my sinuses were quite full. A visual exam of the teeth showed no tooth problems. This marked the second incident of inflamed sinuses this year.

10) The Wyoming Cowboys won in double overtime the fourth annual New Mexico Bowl and the Nebraska Cornhuskers ended their Bowl drought with a shut-out of the Arizona Wildcats in the Pacific Life Holiday Bowl.

This barely scratches the surface of what an exceptional year 2009 has been (national political problems excepted). I’m looking forward to a great 2010 (and what shall this decade be called?)


Leave a comment

Categories