Posted by: Scott | Friday, March 17, 2006

Edwards Frozen Pies: Update

In a previous post, I talked about my pleasure in finding a Bible verse on the packaging for Edwards Frozen Pies. I checked my mail today and had a letter from them. I would like to share with you a bit of it, in case you are as curious as I was:

We are also pleased that you were uplifted by the messages printed on our cartons and embossed in our “Personality Pan.” We utilize a series of Bible verses and other inspirational statements that are rotated from time to time. The Edwards family began adding the quotations when they established the bakery as a means to give their valued customers something extra. We are sending you one of our “Fish Cards.”

The enclosed card reads as follows:

The fish symbol originated with the first century Christians who used it as a means to communicate their allegiance to Jesus Christ. The Ichthus held dual significance: the Greek word for fish formed the initials for Jesus Christ, Son of God, Saviour; secondly, it symbolized their commitment as fishers of men’s souls. Edwards Fine Foods, Inc. has adopted the fish mark to symbolize Christian attitudes and principles in all aspects of the company’s operation.

My prior recommendation still stands: find and try an Edwards frozen pie! While you’re at it, you might also drop them a note of appreciation.


Responses

  1. […] Last night my wife and I were finishing up the last of an Edward’s desert pie left over from the weekend. On the bottom of the pan we were surprised to discover a Bible verse from Proverbs stamped into the metal along with the statement that this is an Edwards “Personality Pan.” It seems that Edwards, an Atlanta based company, has been putting Bible verses and other inspirational statements on selected cartons and pie pans for some time. This brings up a number of thoughts. What if the messages were from a religion other then Christianity? What if they were political, racial, or pro/anti abortion? What if they were borderline obscene? How would I feel? Would I only buy pie’s that had messages I agreed with? It’s all about freedom of speech, right? But do I have to start checking my deserts for some hidden agenda? […]

  2. I was happy that Edwards pies had the verses and the Christian symbols. However, recently when I’ve had the pies, they no longer have these things. Why? Did they give in to political correctness?

  3. […] the label… It was one of those moments that I really felt God was speaking with me.  I saved the box, I’ve still got it.  I woke my wife up in the morning and showed it to her.  She said “man, […]

  4. […] for the label… It was one of those moments that I really felt God was speaking with me.  I saved the box, I’ve still got it.  I woke my wife up in the morning and showed it to her.  She said “man, […]

  5. […] the label… It was one of those moments that I really felt God was speaking with me. I saved the box, I’ve still got it. I woke my wife up in the morning and showed it to her. She said “man, […]


Leave a comment

Categories